Flower Or Weed?

16 Responses to “Flower Or Weed?”

  1. As I have often said…a weed is a flower in the wrong place – and if it is in the wild most definitely a flower!

  2. You are the second person who said it. I have never heard this saying before, but I like it 🙂

  3. I believe that is a thistle and is sometimes called milk weed. You can find them in bouquets every now and then so I think that both flower and weed is appropriate….they are certainly pretty and interesting! Best, Robyn

  4. Thank You for answering my question Robyn! I checked and you are correct. It is thistle 🙂

  5. Beautiful. Well, until they take over my garden. Then, not so beautiful anymore.

  6. That is so true.

  7. With a background in horticulture, a weed is any “unwanted” plant.

  8. Too bad. This one was kind of pretty 😦

  9. Many weeds have flowers, so to ask “flower or weed” is just not right, especially since many weed flowers are quite beautiful.

    And, as my wise old grandmother told me back in 1966 when she gave me a plot of land to create a garden: “A weed is anything that grows where you don’t want it to grow.” I have a cactus garden that was a rose garden under the previous home owners. I don’t like roses, so I got rid of them. However, there is a yellow rose that I cannot get rid of. It’s right in the middle of my cactus garden. I have tried RoundUp, WeedBGone, digging it up, chopping it into itty bitty pieces. Nothing works. It just comes back more beautiful than ever!

  10. I would love to see photo of this rose! The way that it comes back every time you are trying to get rid of it sounds very intriguing and little fairy tale like 🙂

  11. Gorgeous!Thank You Russel 🙂

  12. I’ve often wondered the same … to me a flower is a flower … wild, weed or not 🙂

  13. Not a weed – one of the joys of childhood 🙂 Throwing these at your friends so they stuck to their clothes!

  14. Ha ha. I remember those days. I was doing that too 🙂

Leave a Reply

