Wieliczka Salt Mines, Poland

It`s a big part of Polish history and heritage. I have heard of it`s beauty since I was a child. Never had the chance to visit, until last September. It turned out to be as stunning as I read and as people were saying.

Everything made mostly from salt. Our tour guide said: ” Go ahead. You can touch and even lick the walls. Many people did it before you. No one got sick as far as I know ha ha”.

She told us few facts about the healing power of salt, that it is good for your skin (keeps it younger). Also helps  people who have trouble with respiratory system. Many sick people come there every year to spend hours underground and breathe healthy air it provides.

My sister and I were impressed with everything we saw there, especially St. Kinga`s Chapel. I was ready to take photo of her with St. Kinga`s Chapel in the background. She was admiring it quietly when I told her to turn around. I saw tears in her eyes( that`s how big impression the Chapel made on her). It was truly an incredible view.

If you are ever in Poland and near Wieliczka, this is place worth seeing.

I found some interesting facts for you about it on the internet:

“The historic Salt Mine in Wieliczka is the only site in the world where mining has continued since the Middle Ages. The mine, built in the 13th century, produced table salt continuously until 2007, as one of the world’s oldest salt mines still in operation.

Lying on nine levels, its original excavations (longitudinals, traverses, chambers, lakes, as well as lesser and major shafts) stretch for the total of 300 kilometres: reaching the depth of 327 metres they illustrate all the stages of the development of the mining technology over time.” – the quotation comes from the justification of entering the Wieliczka Salt Mine into UNESCO’s 1st World List of Cultural and Natural Heritage in  September, 1978 together with 11 other sites from all over the world.

The mine is also notable for a long tradition of tourism. The famous breath-taking site has been visited over the centuries by Johann Wolfgang Goethe, Frederic Chopin, Jan Matejko, Dmitri Mendeleyev, Boleslaw Prus, Henryk Sienkiewicz.

The mine’s attractions include a stunning “underground town” with lakes, passages, dozens of statues, three chapels (including marvelous St Kinga chapel) and an entire cathedral that has been carved out of the rock salt by the miners.”

42 Responses to “Wieliczka Salt Mines, Poland”

  1. Yes it is 🙂

  2. Absolutely fascinating, what a gorgeous post, and such superb photos. Well done!

    Autumn Jade

  3. It was one of the coolest places I have seen so far. Beautiful and cool.

  4. Thank You Autumn Jade

  5. Max Reynolds Says:

    Great post. The photos are terrific and the information is very educational. Thank you for sharing it. -Max-

  6. You`re Welcome Max. It is great place to visit if You ever get the chance.

  7. arnoldthearmadillo Says:

    What an amazing place! Thanks 🙂

  8. It is incredible 🙂

  9. I love that place, it is absolutely amazing. Great photos!

  10. Thank You Elizzabethby

  11. How interesting, and what beautiful photos. Thank you so much

  12. Thank You for visiting my blog.

  13. Stunning photography (as usual!) and such an amazing place!

  14. Glad You like it Lesley 🙂

  15. Beautiful images. I love the juxtaposition of the chandeliers.

  16. Amazing, and I just love the shots where you got down low to the ground.

  17. I love them too. I knew I wanted to take them as soon as we stepped into the mine.

  18. Incredible shots! Thank you kindly for visiting my blog 🙂

  19. Thank You for visiting mine.

  20. Beautiful shots, great captures.

  21. Amazing place, great pics !

  22. Thank You Routid

  23. Thank you for stopping by Clicks & Corks and liking one of my images: much appreciated.
    You have a very nice blog and this post about the salt mines is really amazing!
    Take care

  24. Thank You for stopping by my blog 🙂

  25. I went there about 13 years ago when I had to go to Krakow with work. I don’t have any photos, so it’s nice to see yours to bring back some good memories. I had dinner down there too – was very posh! I do remember the lift we had to take was pretty scary – wooden dark :s

  26. It is a very cool place and very old one. But the way they keep it up and running makes it safe. I have to admit, the old lift can be scary.

  27. Hello! I had the chance to visit this place 1.5 year ago :-). This mine is really fantastic!!

  28. Yes it is. The most incredible thing is, that after so many years, it`s still a working mine. I loved it there!

  29. I do not create many remarks, however i did some searching and wound up
    here Wieliczka Salt Mines, Poland | Giaskyler. And I do have a
    few questions for you if you tend not to mind.
    Is it simply me or does it look like some of the
    responses look like left by brain dead folks? 😛 And, if
    you are writing at other sites, I’d like to keep up with everything fresh
    you have to post. Could you make a list of the complete urls of all your social sites like your Facebook
    page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

  30. Hi there.
    I only write on this blog and my Facebook. Glad you like what I write. Talk to You soon then 🙂

  31. Very interesting post and pictures. If I go visit Poland, I’ll have to go to this mine.

  32. Definitely!

  33. Johne510 Says:

    Hi! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a cgefgedddbdg

  34. Hope it`s not last 🙂

Leave a Reply

