Tatry, Poland

What I`ve missed a lot while living in US, was Polish mountains, Tatry to be exact. As soon as I knew I am going to Poland, I convinced my sister take a road trip there. I was in Tatra Mountains a few times as a child on an overnight camp. That is how I caught a hiking bug.                                                                                                                                                                                                    My sister made a plan, so we knew exactly what we wanted to do each day. When we got to Zakopane (famous city located in Tatra Mountains) the weather had a different plan for us. It was raining cats and dogs the first day and we were forced to stay around town. The day after that, we found out that when it rained in the city, it snowed in the mountains (quite a lot). We were disappointed, we planned to take gondola to Kasprowy Wierch and hike Giewont Mountain. We still decided to go.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                When we got there the snow was up to our knees. We knew it was too dangerous for 2 inexperienced hikers like us to go with our plan. We had warm clothes and good hiking boots, but we had no snow clothes. It was beautiful at the top, but too risky to walk without a proper gear. We decided we are not gonna let the weather ruin our trip and we made a new plan.                                                                                                                          When you hike in Polish mountains, people are so friendly and helpful, that you feel you are in the different world. I have to point out to you, that Polish people are not the kind that will say “hi” to strangers. You can forget about casual conversation. If you know somebody and start talking to them, that`s fine. But with a stranger, they look at you like you are a nutcase. So it was an amazing feeling of unison between hikers,  one of many reason why I love mountain climbing. We met many fantastic people, who hiked with us or who we were constantly seeing on other hiking trails. One man in particular, who loves Tatra Mountains and has been hiking there for over 40 years now (many times a year), told us about some really beautiful trails. We decided to listen to him and check them out. Let me tell you…he was right! The places he told us about were amazing! My sister and I did not care that our shoes were wet or that it was slippery/muddy.We kept on going. Every day we were leaving hotel at 7 am and coming back around 9 pm. We were exhausted but incredibly happy with every place we went to see.                                                                                                                                                                                                     On the 4th day of our trip the snow melted significantly and we decided to try Giewont again, using the trail that leads through the top of the mountains that we heard had a breathtaking views. We saw that it looked dry from the valley. When we got to Kasprowy Wierch using a gondola, it was a different story. We saw that the snow turned to mud/ice. The wind was too strong and it was way too foggy. We decided to wait it out, but after an hour we took gondola down and decided to hike Giewont from the bottom (Giewont is located a little lower and because of that the fog was not as thick there, so we decided to take a risk). It was very windy and after 4 days of walking our legs were sore. We thought we are not gonna make it. We had moments of doubt. We also had scary moments because of the strong wind. But we DID IT! We were so proud of ourselves.                          That night we fell asleep with big smiles on our faces and a feeling of accomplishment. We laughed that all we saw when we closed our eyes was… hiking trails!

21 Responses to “Tatry, Poland”

  1. Can I ask a favour with your blog? I find it difficult to read sometimes. Would you be able to break it up into paragraphs at all?

    Thanks 🙂

  2. I have changed it a bit. Hope it helps. Thank for the tip 🙂

  3. Thanks, made it easier 🙂

  4. Great photos, and a beautiful place!

  5. Thank You. Yes, it is gorgeous

  6. Gorgeous! I love the mountains. Fabulous captures. The last image of the boots is very creative and compositionally great. Robyn

  7. Thank You Robyn. That`s mine and my sister`s shoes after 4 days of hiking 😀

  8. Beautiful! Two of my favorite activities–hiking in the mountains and photography! If I ever make it back to Poland, I will definitely have to visit these beauties!

  9. …and You will not be disappointed 🙂

  10. What stunning views!! Poland is beautiful! Sharon

  11. Thank You Sharon! Yes it is! There is a lot of hidden treasures there waiting…like Tatry 🙂

  12. Beautiful photography. I love seeing snow capped mountains with lush greenery below. Thanks for visiting my blog.

  13. A great story and beautiful photographs. Love the boots. Didn’t know Poland had such serious mountains. I love the place where there’s a long, curved slope – in a few of your pictures. I can see why you missed this place.

  14. Thank You for a nice comment.
    When we were done hiking, we had to throw away the boots. I took the photo before we did it… to remember.

  15. Great place and nice mountains! At times it looked more like a skiing trip than a hiking one though! It’s too bad you think of the U.S. as not having enough mountains. Come visit my neck of the woods and you’ll see!

  16. I know U.S. has beautiful mountains. I have been in Colorado and Seattle. But the emotional connection I have with Polish Mountains. They will always be number 1 in my heart 🙂

  17. Reminds me of the Swiss Alps from my wife’s home country.

  18. Never been but I have seen photos. One day…maybe 🙂

  19. Beautiful shots! I stayed at Poronin, just north of Zakopane, for a Silver wedding celebration a couple of Septembers ago. It was lovely and I would like to see more of the area.

Leave a Reply

