My first U.S. road trip

On my first road trip in the U. S. I was taken to this beautiful little village called Helen in Georgia (near Atlanta). It was a family reunion for the family I was staying with. Me, my host mom, her mom and 2 kids, drove 12 hours straight at night. I also had a mild case of stomach flu or ate something bad (to this day I do not know what it was), so I did not feel well. It was a tough drive, but I made it.

It was October, year 2000 to be precise, so leaves were in gorgeous fall colors. After we settled there and got some rest, the grandmother took me to see nearby lake. She said it`s called “The Mirror Lake” and I will understand where the name came from when I see it. When we got there I saw a mirror reflection of the lake like I have never seen before. With leaves in a different shades of red, orange, yellow and brown it was simply a spectacular view. I had a simple film camera with a small zoom. I was praying that at least one photo will show the beauty of this place. I was relieved when I got the photos back to see that one was close enough and satisfying, although you know yourselves that no photo can show beauty of a place unless you see it with your own eyes.

Later that week, we went horseback riding. Grandmother and my host mom took time to drive me around to show me this amazing place. This was when I decided I want to see more of this beautiful country and my love for road trips really kicked in.

Thank You Suzie and Jolee!

8 Responses to “My first U.S. road trip”

  1. Mirror Lake looks amazing. Thanks for sharing that story with us.

  2. Good work! Letting your equipment tie you down is not worth it. You only have one chance for that one shot. Glad to see you used what you had. If you ever get the chance, try a house boat trip at Lake Powell for a week. You will never forget the experience and the beauty. Arizona has the best sunsets!

  3. Thanks for the tip! I have been to Arizona once and it is beautiful! Definitely want to come back

  4. Thanks Alice

  5. How beautiful! And I understand exactly what you mean when you say that a photograph never really expresses the true beauty of a place. Frustrating.

  6. Yes it is very frustrating. But I will keep trying anyway 🙂

  7. Helen, Georgia is one my favorite place to visit! Glad you enjoyed your road trip.
    Also thanks for visiting my blog and liking my post!

Leave a Reply

