Happy Birthday Sister!

This is my sister`s favorite quote when it comes to our relationship.

She is the most important person in my life. As a child I “hated” her (probably a lot of siblings can relate) but now I can not imagine my life without her!

Our relationship started to shift from “hate” to love right after our dad died (I was 14 and she was 12). We realized that life is fragile and people can be gone in a blink of an eye. Your life changes and it is never the same. We started value each other more, she was going exactly what I was going through. We started talking more, communicating more. We became grown ups in an instant and with that we started treating each other in more mature way. We realized how lucky we were having each other and we never looked back.

Now we laugh how stupid we were as kids and reminiscence in our childhood memories, but we look towards the future more than anything. For the future looks bright and is full of hope and dreams that we want to share… together!
Happy Birthday Sister Mine!

22 Responses to “Happy Birthday Sister!”

  1. szwesta Says:

    I Love You too Sister Mine šŸ˜€

  2. I am an only child but all through my childhood I had a best friend forever who was even more than a sister to me… we were inseparable (even through the inevitable arguments and disagreements that two people are bound to have) and found strength and love through each other. To this day, we still do.

    When we are older and set off on our careers, settling into a relationship with that ‘special’ person… husband, wife, partner… it is important to never, ever lose that bond with a sister or best friend – that person we went through so much of our life with. They will always give us strength as we give them… love us as we love them.

    Alone we can do nothing… together we can conquer the world!

    I am married now, to the most amazing woman in the world but I will treasure always the friendship I had growing up and continue to have to this day with my best friend forever, Talia.

  3. Very nicely said Veronica! Love it!

  4. My sister and myself used to fight in our childhood. Even now I remember her slap all the time but now we are close as ever. It’s very nice to read your post. Glad!

  5. Happy birthday to yoru sister. I’m estranged from my family on both sides, but it doesn’t bother me. As Louise Hay says, “You can’t choose your family but you can choose who is in your life at any specific time.”

  6. Thank You for the wishes!

  7. mooney=mc2 Says:

    I feel the same way. My sister is an extension of my heart. Without her, I would be lost. Lovely post for your sister here!

  8. Love the Pooh quote. I have three sisters and I can’t imagine my life without them. Thank you for sharing your sister’s birthday with us.

  9. Thank You! I am very lucky to have her!

  10. Thanks for the like! This post is so sweet. I love my sister very much too…we have been very close friends!

  11. liannebarile Says:

    you’re both a blessing to each other. It’s good that you have a sibling. I’m an only child and my parents separated my best friends left me but I’m thankful I have God and i know together I can be great. More blessings to your relationship :]

  12. That is a wonderful quote! I am so sorry that you lost your dad at such a young age. I am grateful to know of the strength and encouragement that you and your sister became to each other. Happy birthday, sister!

  13. Thank You Robin! She is reading all of my posts and comments so she will definitely read your wishes šŸ™‚

  14. szwesta Says:

    And i did šŸ™‚ Thank you very much for your wishes šŸ™‚

  15. Photographs by Peter Knight Says:

    Very nice! Similar to me except my dad left when we were 9 and 11 so it was just us and our mum. She was very sick in and out of hospital. Now we are grown up with our own kids and maybe our “biological” dad, as we call him, has actually given us a blessing in disguise as I think we are closer as a result of his leaving all those years ago.

  16. I could totally relate to this. I grew up with 7 siblings. I think I fought with all of them. šŸ˜‰ We also have better relationships now, with each other. Thank you for sharing this….

  17. I love my sister too!! I can relate to how your relationship has improved over the years. Thanks for sharing!

  18. I am very lucky that we found good communication early enough. Now we can enjoy what we have šŸ™‚

  19. Absolutely šŸ™‚

  20. Everything is very open with a really clear description of
    the issues. It was definitely informative. Your website is extremely helpful.

    Thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

