Dad

Today would be my father`s 62-nd Birthday!

                                                                                                                 You would think that time heals everything but in my case in makes it tougher. Not a day passes that I do not think about him. I often wonder how my life would be if he was alive. I have many moments when I wish he was with me. It hurts to know he was not present to witness so many milestones in my life.                                     

As my life goes on it is getting harder, not easier as people say. He will never walk me down the aisle. He will never hold the children I hope to have one day. The void is irreplaceable! I know he`s with me in spirit, but I wish I could hug him, call him, tell him I love him, and hear him say it back.

If you are lucky and still have your father in your life, and you have a great relationship with him like I had with mine, do not waste any moments. When he is gone, no man can replace him. I am always and forever daddy`s little girl!

21 Responses to “Dad”

  1. Having not lost a parent yet, I can’t say I know how you feel. I have lost friends though. I know sometimes I wish I could speak to my friends again, and if there is a heaven, then hope that they are looking down on me and their other friends the same as your father would be looking down on you. It sounds like you and your father had a wonderful relationship, and I am really sorry for your loss with him. Time does not heal the wounds, you just learn to live with them, but that is not easy all the time either. I’m glad that you and your sister have each other today.

  2. RichardB1001 Says:

    You were so unfortunate to have lost your father at such a young age. My father died when he was in his early 80s, so I did get to spend time with him as an adult. I often think, when I am starting to do something, of calling my father. I doubt that will ever pass. My sincerest regrets for your loss.

  3. Thank You for a nice comment! Yes, my sister and I express it out loud a lot, that we are very lucky to have each other!

  4. Photography by Gisele Morgan Says:

    I feel your pain having lost my dad too 😦

  5. Happy birthday to your dad…. wherever he may now be.

  6. SORRY FOR YOUR LOSS!

  7. Such a wonderful tribute to your dad.

  8. Have you thought about a web site in his memory. I have one in memory of my wise old grandmother. With WordPress you could set it up very easily.

  9. I figured this blog will be like diary and I will do it here from time to time. But it is a good suggestion. Thanks. I will think about it

  10. The loss of my father was very hard on me as well. I think the pain of loss keeps our love alive. Thank you for visiting Gwichyaa Zhee.

  11. Thank You for a kind words!

  12. Very well put. I agree that time does not heal. Rather, the more time passes and more days are between now and the last time I saw my father alive, the more I ache to see him and the bigger that void in my heart is. Thank you for sharing!

  13. That is so true Gabbie!

  14. I know exactly how you’re feeling. The only thing time does is pass. The ache never goes away, but it does get easier to deal with as the time passes. I miss my dad so much. He passed away June 7, 2007 at the age of 79. HUGS Donna

  15. weedimageoftheday Says:

    My daddy died when I was six years old, and I am decades older than that now. I feel I have never grown past that age when I think of him. Sometimes I hear him and feel him trying to make me something, even though I barely knew him. There will always be a part of you that keens for him. I hope that your memories of him will help heal the pain and keep teaching you, as he would have. hugs

  16. It`s hard but I am trying! Hugs to you too

  17. Photographs by Peter Knight Says:

    Very beautifully written. This really moved me because I have two small daughters (I’m a full time dad) and I kind of imagined and hoped , reading this, that if I was no longer there for them that they would write something like this. Lovely 🙂

  18. We must be on the same wavelength! Here is the post I wrote on June 6th, remembering my father’s birthday. Thanks for stopping by my blog–I am really glad to have found yours. http://naomibaltuck.wordpress.com/2012/06/06/weekly-photo-challenge-today-we-are-all-survivors/

  19. Great story! Too bad they cut the tree! It would be incredible thing to see it grow, knowing your dad planted it!

Leave a Reply

