“When You Wish Upon A Star”

I was born and raised in Europe, Poland to be exact.

Growing up, my sister and I have heard a lot about magical place far far away called Disney World. We had no idea where it was, how far it was, but we dreamed of someday going there. Growing up with very little money, it felt out of reach and we were certain we will never go. I always wanted to live in America, my grandma said she heard me say it since I was 11 years old! I had no idea how I was gonna make it happen, since to get VISA was like a miracle and we did not have that kind of money.

Finally few months before my Medical School graduation I decided to follow my dream and try to make it happen. I thought it was now or never! I was determined and found a way with my mom`s help. I asked her to take a credit from the bank for me, so I could go. I was shocked at how easily she agreed. She explained her decision by saying that I have been talking about it for years and if that`s what I really want, then I should go ( I am proud to say I paid her back 3 times the amount I owned her). I was lucky to get VISA and 3 days after receiving my Diploma I was on an airplane to the unknown in a new, big, far away land called The United States.

About 3.5 years later my sister came to visit me for the very first time and we took a road trip… to DISNEY WORLD!!! She could not believe she was there (it was my second time) and we did not care that we looked like idiots running around, giggling and screaming!! We were behaving like little girls. We had to have a photo with every princesses and character from the stories we knew as kids. We went to every single park, on every single ride there was. We saw every show there was to see. We went on Disney Safari and to Universal Studios. We had a blast! It was my first road trip with my sister.

Now every time she comes, we pick a place from our “TO GO” wish list and we MAKE OUR DREAMS COME TRUE!

“When you wish upon a star
Makes no difference who you are
Anything your heart desires
Will come to you
If your heart is in your dream
No request is too extreme
When you wish upon a star
As dreamers do
Fate is kind
She brings to those who love
The sweet fulfillment of
Their secret longing
Like a bolt out of the blue
Fate steps in and sees you through
When you wish upon a star
Your dreams come true!”

37 Responses to ““When You Wish Upon A Star””

  1. It’s fantastic that you were able to make your dream come true. Well done, and there’s some fantastic photos there as well.

  2. Thank You So Much!

  3. What a fantastic story and great photos. It put a big smile on my face on this rainy sunday morning

  4. I remember how magical it was for me too when I went Disney. Now I live so close to Disney so almost never go now. It was so nice to read about your joy. 🙂

  5. With your nice comment you just made my day 🙂

  6. Wow, such an amazing story! Very touching and after reading it you just believe more and more that dreams usually become true! 😉

  7. I know how it feels for us, Polish people, to fulfil our dreams! I love this poem very much!!! 😉

  8. What a post! I think that Disney world will always be magical for me, I can always be a kid and forget about everything else there 🙂

  9. I was a Disney employee for 17 years, 10 of them spent working on theme park property. I observed magical stories like yours happening all the time, which was part of what made it a magical place to work.

  10. How wonderful you got to go not once, but twice. We took our little girl when she was 7 and I behaved just like a child. We go to Universal this summer; can’t wait! Glad you are following your dreams!

  11. It was magical! We loved every minute of it!

  12. That is great! Disney is as my sis and I said “another world” 🙂

  13. Great photos, they bring back great memories of the best holiday my husband and I ever had. Thanks for sharing them!

  14. Sharing in your happiness for dreams come true! May you always reach for the stars! Hugs, Sharon

  15. the power of dreams 🙂 we’re not afraid to dream but sometimes we’re afraid to start doing something to make our dreams come true. you’re absolutely a dream realizer 🙂

  16. It is interesting to hear a perspective from someone who did not grow up inundated with the Disney influence. Sounds like a wonderful trip, which is how it was meant to be. Those of us who grew up here and watched Disney movies and tv shows continuously as kids and have visited the parks many times often forget how magical a place it can really be. Thanks for a refreshing honest report about a wonderful place and how you fulfilled your dream of going there.

  17. Thank You for visiting my blog and liking the photos!

  18. Thank You Sharon for your wishes! It means a lot!

  19. I am trying 🙂 But you are right. The first step is the hardest!

  20. Thank You for your kind words! It was magical! Never thought I am gonna be there! We were pinching ourselves!

  21. Thanks for liking my photo and for visiting my blog!

  22. THANKS for visiting my “pun-ny” photoblog and leaving a “like.” Your story is wonderful as are your photos.

  23. Thank You for visiting my blog and liking my photos

  24. Wonderful story!

  25. Your very personal and touching story was a pleasure to read and made me cry a little….especially about the part where you and your sis ran all over Disney World in childlike ecstasy…Yay!!

  26. Thank You so much for a touching comment!

  27. Anonymous Says:

    Thank you for sharing your dream and adventure. How wonderful must it be to have a sister and have her be your best friend and adventure seeker companion.

    Also, your Jimney Cricket song is one of my childhood favorites!

    Blog on!

  28. Thank You! I am a very lucky girl to have my sis 🙂

  29. Beautiful photos and a wonderful poem about dreams! I agree completely with your words! I´m happy with all my heart for anyone, who realises his dreams!

    It is worth it for dreams to live!

    Great post – your words touch my heart and they remember me on my motto for my own life:

    “Some people say that dreaming gets you nowhere in life. But I say you can’t get anywhere in life without dreaming. “(Rose Zadra)

    I wish you all the best!
    Sunelly Sims
    — BE YOURSELF! —

  30. […] I was born and raised in Europe, Poland to be exact. Growing up, my sister and I have heard a lot ab…. […]

  31. Thank You Sunelly!

  32. I have lived in the US my whole life & only been to Disney World once. I was 19 at the time. It was a last minute decision to go & I only got to spend the one day there; but it was a dream come true for me as well. I remember walking into the park, seeing Cinderella’s castle, & bursting into tears! I frantically ran around the park trying to take in as much as I could; however, one day just wasn’t enough. That place is huge! I hope to go back again….someday.
    Great post!

  33. One day is definitely not enough. Hope you will get to go there for a little longer. It is so worth it. Thank You for a nice comment. Have a good one!

  34. Hi Giaskyler,

    I was born and raised in Asia, Philippines to be exact. Living in Singapore for almost 5 years now. I dream of living in Europe or New Zealand next…but this seems elusive at the moment. Thank you for sharing your story, it re-affirms my belief that dreams indeed do come true.

    Thanks and regards,
    Mafey 🙂

  35. It just shows that if you really want something it will happen. But you have to do a little work to set the wheels in motion! Good luck 🙂

Leave a Reply

